BlindSpotting  

Last Sunday, I went to see this movie with a few friends. It was a quick decision under some sort of social/peer pressure. But I’m glad I did. Otherwise, I would have not at all heard about this movie.

One of the themes surrounding this film is pretty obvious, the racial problems in America, police brutality and violence towards people of color, more so on black people specifically. Another theme the film tries hard to reveal is to show the struggles that both white and black races when it comes to racial problems. I have to admit that I may have a slight bias towards the black race due to complex reasoning and under many cultural influences, but I would always try my best to maintain the objectivity of my opinions.

Witnessing a police shooting scene to a 26-year-old black father with a 3-year-old daughter has been haunting Collin, our main character, who is on probation struggles to maintain his friendship with his best childhood friend Miles after the event. The realization of the differences forced him to re-evaluate things between him and his white friend Miles. There’re so many details in this film that are representing different ideas and opinions and facts; it’s hard to put them all in a cohesive paragraph. I’ll bullet point them.

Wrote in the end, by the way, the movie was filmed in Oakland, CA, “a trendy spot in the rapidly gentrifying Bay Area.”

Some quotes I remembered from the movie:

Collin: Stop!
Sean: Don’t shoot! Don’t shoot!

-

Collin: Every time you come around here, Miles, you got me feeling like a monster in my own town! I ain’t no killer.

-

Terry: [to Miles] You know, you don’t have to act ghetto to hang out here.

-

Possibly To Be Continued.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

(WFH) Ideas Bounce

I started to understand why Drew watched every episode of She’s Gotta Have It twice, maybe not exactly clear about the reason that he thinks it’s a must watch for him but I see why it’s worth to watch twice. A fun fact, do you know that... Continue →